主页 图书馆 外汇市场参与者

图书馆

外汇市场参与者

外汇市场参与者

外汇市场的所有参与者可以分为两类:主动参与者(市场主体)和被动参与者。商业银行和经纪公司是直接影响定价和所有其他市场流程的积极参与者。

被动外汇参与者按照制造商提供的价格进行货币交易。他们购买和出售货币、投资、推测价格波动、从事旅游业务等来支付国际进出口合同。

外汇市场参与者

商业银行

因为拥有庞大的资产,商业银行是外汇国际货币市场的主要参与者。他们可以在银行交易中成为买卖双方的中间商。银行账户持有人直接要求外汇业务:货币兑换,存款或以不同货币贷款。

因此,银行积累了市场运作的总体供求情况,如买/卖货币。 如果银行自己不能满足客户的需求,就从其他银行借款。因此,外汇并不是典型意义上的货币兑换,而是相当于同业间交易的市场。

中央银行

中央银行的主要任务是规避货币市场,包括避免汇率剧烈波动,维持进出口平衡等。它们的影响可以为直接的(通过货币干预水平),也可以为间接的(通过监管的货币供应量的利率和产量。)

在货币市场上,中央银行核实或更正现行国家货币汇率。盈利并非他们的首要考虑。他们可以通过商业银行行事,也可以进行联合干预活动。如今,美国,日本,英国和欧洲央行的影响力最大。

经纪公司

经纪公司的功能是买卖双方融合外币,进行贷款,存款或进行外汇交易。对于他们的服务,这些公司以交易的百分比收取费用。

企业从事外贸业务

与外国买家和供应商合作的公司需要不断购买或出售货币。它们是转换业务执行并将可用资产置于短期存款中的最稳定的银行客户。 此外,这些公司通常不能在货币市场上独立进行交易,他们通过银行进行所有交易。

进行国际投资的公司

这些公司将主要资金资产置于大型公司或政府,以谋取利润。最着名的国际投资基金是“Dean Witter”和“Quantium”。在全球范围内开设分公司和开放式合资企业,并拥有外国工业投资的大型公司(施乐,通用汽车,雀巢等)也属于这类公司

货币兑换

它是外币市场的结构单位,法定实体的汇率形成和货币兑换交易发生。它可以交易货币,还可以衍生金融工具(期货,期权等)。

交易公司

中介公司代表没有足够资产的个人在外汇市场上进行独立参与拍卖。交易公司的所有交易都是投机性的,旨在转卖货币以获利。

个人

个人是货币市场投机目的购买/销售交易和进行非贸易外汇交易(转让工资,涉外旅游等)的参与者。

Home Library Participants of the Forex market

Library

The participants of the forex market

Participants of the Forex market

All participants of the Forex market can be divided into two categories: active (market makers) and passive. Commercial banks and brokerage firms are active participants directly affecting the pricing and all the other market processes.

Passive Forex participants execute currency transactions at the prices offered by market makers. They buy and sell currency to pay international export-import contracts, to invest, to speculate on the price fluctuations, to engage in tourist business, etc.

Participants of the Forex market

Commercial banks

Commercial banks are the major participants of the Forex international currency market since they have a vast array of assets. They may or make transactions in the interbank exchange or become intermediaries between buyers and sellers. Bank account holders directly request foreign exchange operations: the currency exchange, depositing, or taking loans in different currencies.

Thus, banks accumulate the aggregate supply and demand for market operations like purchase/sale of currency. If banks cannot meet the needs of their customers on their own, they borrow funds from the other banks. Thus, Forex is not a currency exchange in its classical sense, but is rather a market of interbank transactions.

Central banks

The main task of the central banks is regulation of the currency market including avoidance of sharp fluctuations in exchange rates, maintaining the balance of import/export, etc. Their influence can be direct (through the level of currency intervention) and indirect (through regulation of the interest rates and production volumes of the monetary supply.)

In the currency market, the central banks verify or correct the existing rate of a national currency. Making a profit is not their priority interest. They can act through commercial banks or to carry out joint intervention activities. Nowadays the Central banks of USA, Japan, England and the European Central Bank have the most influence.

Brokerage companies

The function of brokerage firms is a convergence of foreign currency for buyers and sellers to get a loan, deposit, or conduct foreign exchange transactions. For their services, these firms charge a fee as a percentage of the transaction.

Firms committing operations in foreign trade

Firms working with foreign buyers and suppliers constantly need to buy or sell currency. They are the most stable customers of the banks in terms of conversion operations executing out and placing available assets in short-term deposits. In addition, these firms usually are not able to trade independently on the currency market and conduct all transactions through banks.

Companies committing international investment

These companies constitute the major investment funds that place their assets in stocks of the large corporations or governments with a view to profit. The most well-known international investment funds are «Dean Witter» and «Quantium». Large corporations with foreign industrial investments that create branches and open joint ventures worldwide (Xerox, General motors, Nestle, etc.) also belong to this type of companies.

Currency exchanges

It is a structural unit of the foreign currency market where the exchange rate formation and currency exchange transactions of legal entities occur. Not only currency can be traded, but also derivative financial instruments (futures, options, etc.).

Dealing companies

Intermediary firms conduct operations in the foreign exchange market on behalf of individuals who have not enough assets to participate independently in the auction. All transactions in the dealing companies are speculative and aimed at resale of currencies for profit.

Private individuals

Private individuals are the currency market participants making purchase/sale transactions for speculative purposes and conducting non-trade foreign exchange transactions (salary transfer, foreign tourism, etc.).